Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup is a Grade 1 National Hunt chase for 5 year old and above horses. It is run over a distance of 3 miles 2½ furlongs on the new course at the Cheltenham Festival and provides a supreme test for the horses involved.

The Gold Cup was first run in 1924, and is the most prestigious chase in the United Kingdom.

10 Year Trends

In the past 10 years a total of 129 horses have competed in the Gold Cup, with the betting market providing a good indicator of the likely winner of the race. The biggest priced winner was Lord Windermere, who won the 2014 running, at odds of 20/1. The other 9 winners have all come from the top 4 in the market, with a biggest priced SP of 8/1.

  • SP > 20/1 are 0 wins from 52
  • Previously won a Grade 1 race. Those who haven't are 0 wins from 53
  • Most recent win Grade 1-3. Outside range 0 wins from 30
  • Aged 6 - 9 years. Outside this range are 0 wins from 28 runs
  • Days since last run > 32. Outside range 0 wins from 22
  • Won at least 1 of last 5 runs. Those who haven't are 0 wins from 21
  • 8 of last 10 winners won their previous race

Past Results

2019 - 16 ran
1Al Boum PhotoW P MullinsP Townend12/1
2Anibale FlyA J MartinB J Geraghty22/1
3Bristol De MaiN A Twiston-DaviesD A Jacob18/1
4Native RiverC L TizzardR Johnson6/1
2018 - 15 ran
1Native RiverC L TizzardR Johnson5/1
2Might BiteN J HendersonNico de Boinville4/1f
3Anibale FlyA J MartinB J Geraghty33/1
2017 - 13 ran
1Sizing JohnMrs J HarringtonR M Power7/1
2Minella RoccoJonjo O'NeillN D Fehily18/1
3Native RiverC L TizzardR Johnson7/2
2016 - 9 ran
1Don Cossack G ElliottB J Cooper9/4f
2Djakadam W P MullinsR Walsh9/2
3Don Poli W P MullinsD N Russell9/2
2015 - 16 ran
1Coneygree M BradstockNico de Boinville7/1
2Djakadam W P MullinsR Walsh10/1
3Road To Riches N MeadeB J Cooper8/1
4Holywell Jonjo O'NeillR P Mclernon8/1
2014 - 13 ran
1Lord Windermere J H CullotyD N Russell20/1
2On His Own W P MullinsD J Casey16/1
3The Giant Bolster D G BridgwaterT Scudamore14/1
2013 - 9 ran
1Bobs Worth N J HendersonB J Geraghty11/4f
2Sir Des Champs W P MullinsA P McCoy4/1
3Long Run N J HendersonMr S Waley-Cohen7/2
2012 - 14 ran
1Synchronised Jonjo O'NeillA P McCoy8/1
2The Giant BolsterD G BridgwaterT Scudamore50/1
3Long Run N J HendersonMr S Waley-Cohen7/4
2011 - 13 ran
1Long Run N J HendersonMr S Waley-Cohen7/2
2Denman P F NichollsS Thomas8/1
3Kauto Star P F NichollsR Walsh5/1
2010 - 11 ran
1Imperial CommanderN A Twiston-DaviesP J Brennan7/1
2Denman P F NichollsA P McCoy4/1
3Mon Mome Miss V WilliamsA Coleman50/1
2009 - 16 ran
1Kauto Star P F NichollsR Walsh7/4
2Denman P F NichollsS Thomas7/1
3Exotic Dancer Jonjo O'NeillA P McCoy8/1
4Neptune CollongesP F NichollsChristian Williams15/2
2008 - 12 ran
1Denman P F NichollsS Thomas9/4
2Kauto Star P F NichollsR Walsh10/11
3Neptune CollongesP F NichollsM A Fitzgerald25/1
2007 - 18 ran
1Kauto Star P F NichollsR Walsh5/4
2Exotic Dancer Jonjo O'NeillA P McCoy9/2
3Turpin Green N G RichardsA Dobbin40/1
4Monkerhostin P J HobbsR Johnson25/1
2006 - 22 ran
1War Of Attrition M F MorrisC O'Dwyer15/2
2Hedgehunter W P MullinsR Walsh16/1
3Forget The PastM J P O'BrienB J Geraghty9/1
4L'ami F DoumenM A Fitzgerald10/1
2005 - 15 ran
1Kicking King T J TaaffeB J Geraghty4/1
2Take The Stand P BowenA Dobbin25/1
3Sir Rembrandt R H AlnerA Thornton12/1
2004 - 10 ran
1Best Mate Miss H KnightJ Culloty8/11
2Sir Rembrandt R H AlnerA Thornton33/1
3Harbour Pilot N MeadeP Carberry20/1
2003 - 15 ran
1Best Mate Miss H KnightJ Culloty13/8
2Truckers Tavern Ferdy MurphyD N Russell33/1
3Harbour Pilot N MeadeP Carberry40/1
2002 - 18 ran
1Best Mate Miss H KnightJ Culloty7/1
2Commanche Court T WalshR Walsh25/1
3See More BusinessP NichollsJ Tizzard40/1
4Marlborough N HendersonD Gallagher12/1
2000 - 12 ran
1Looks Like TroubleNoel T ChanceR Johnson9/2
2Florida Pearl W MullinsP Carberry9/2
3Strong Promise C KinaneR Thornton20/1