Ascot Gold Cup

The Gold Cup is a group 1 race for horses aged 4 years old and above, run over a distance of 2 miles 4 furlongs during the Royal Ascot meeting.

The race was first run in 1807 and is traditionally held on Ladies' Day at Royal Ascot.

Together with the 2 miles 2 furlongs Doncaster Cup and 2 miles Goodwood Cup, the Ascot Gold Cup is part of Britain's Stayers' Triple Crown. Only six horses have ever swept all three, with Le Moss doing it twice.

Past Results

2023 - 12 ran
1Courage Mon AmiJ & T GosdenL Dettori15/2
2ColtraneA M BaldingOisin Murphy11/4f
3SubjectivistCharlie JohnstonJ Fanning9/2
2022 - 9 ran
1KypriosA P O'BrienR L Moore13/8f
2Mojo StarR HannonRossa Ryan15/2
3StradivariusJ & T GosdenL Dettori2/1
2021 - 12 ran
1SubjectivistM JohnstonJ Fanning13/2
2Princess ZoeA MullinsJ M Sheridan28/1
3Spanish MissionA M BaldingW Buick7/1
2020 - 8 ran
1StradivariusJ H M GosdenL Dettori4/5f
2Nayef RoadM JohnstonR L Moore11/1
3Cross CounterC ApplebyJames Doyle7/1
2019 - 11 ran
1StradivariusJ H M GosdenL Dettori1/1f
2Dee Ex BeeM JohnstonS De Sousa7/2
3Master Of RealityJ P O'BrienW M Lordan66/1
2018 - 9 ran
1StradivariusJ H M GosdenL Dettori7/4j
2VazirabadA De Royer DupreC Soumillon9/2
3TorcedorMrs J HarringtonC O'Donoghue14/1
2017 - 14 ran
1Big OrangeM L W BellJames Doyle5/1
2Order Of St GeorgeA P O'BrienR L Moore5/6f
3Harbour LawMrs L J MonganJim Crowley33/1
2016 - 17 ran
1Order Of St GeorgeA P O'BrienR L Moore10/11f
2Mizzou L M CumaniAndrea Atzeni10/1
3Sheikhzayedroad D M SimcockM Harley40/1
4Mille Et Mille C LernerT Thulliez33/1
2015 - 12 ran
1Trip To Paris E A L DunlopG Lee12/1
2Kingfisher A P O'BrienR L Moore5/1
3Forgotten Rules D K WeldP J Smullen5/2f
2014 - 13 ran
1Leading Light A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien10/11f
2Estimate Sir Michael StouteR L Moore8/1
3Missunited M WintersJim Crowley40/1
2013 - 14 ran
1Estimate Sir Michael StouteR L Moore7/2f
2Simenon W P MullinsJ P Murtagh5/1
3Top Trip F DoumenM Barzalona7/1
2012 - 9 ran
1Colour Vision Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori6/1
2Opinion Poll M Al ZarooniM Barzalona5/1
3Saddler's Rock J M OxxJ P Murtagh9/2
2011 - 15 ran
1Fame And GloryA P O'BrienJ P Spencer11/8
2Opinion Poll M Al ZarooniM Barzalona16/1
3Brigantin A FabreP C Boudot16/1
2010 - 12 ran
1Rite Of PassageD K WeldP J Smullen20/1
2Age Of Aquarius A P O'BrienJ P Murtagh8/1
3Purple Moon L M CumaniK Fallon12/1
2009 - 9 ran
1Yeats A P O'BrienJ Murtagh6/4
2Patkai Sir Michael StouteR L Moore9/2
3Geordieland J A OsborneS W Kelly11/4
2008 - 10 ran
1Yeats A P O'BrienJ Murtagh11/8
2Geordieland J A OsborneS W Kelly15/2
3Coastal PathA FabreS Pasquier2/1
2007 - 14 ran
1Yeats A P O'BrienM J Kinane8/13
2Geordieland J A OsborneJ P Spencer12/1
3Le Miracle W BaltromeiD Boeuf50/1
2006 - 12 ran
1Yeats A P O'BrienK Fallon7/1
2ReefscapeA FabreC Soumillon10/3
3Distinction Sir Michael StouteM J Kinane5/2
2005 - 17 ran
1WesternerE LelloucheO Peslier7/4
2Distinction Sir Michael StouteJ Murtagh33/1
3Vinnie Roe D K WeldP J Smullen9/2
4Wolfe Tone A P O'BrienK Fallon20/1
2004 - 13 ran
1PapineauSaeed bin SuroorL Dettori5/1
2WesternerE LelloucheG Mosse13/2
3Darasim M JohnstonJ Fanning28/1
2003 - 12 ran
1Mr Dinos P F I ColeK Fallon3/1
2Persian Punch D R C ElsworthMartin Dwyer20/1
3Pole StarJ R FanshawePat Eddery12/1
2002 - 15 ran
1Royal RebelM JohnstonJ Murtagh16/1
2Vinnie Roe D K WeldP J Smullen5/2
3Wareed Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori13/2
2001 - 12 ran
1Royal RebelM JohnstonJ Murtagh8/1
2Persian Punch D R C ElsworthT Quinn10/1
3Jardines Lookout A P JarvisJ Fortune25/1
2000 - 11 ran
1Kayf TaraSaeed bin SuroorM J Kinane11/8
2Far Cry M PipeK Darley20/1
3Compton AceG A ButlerR Hughes11/1