Prince Of Wales's Stakes

The Prince Of Wales's Stakes is a group 1 race for horses aged 4 years old and above, run over 1 mile 2 furlongs during the Royal Ascot meeting.

The race was first run in 1862 and named in honour of the Prince of Wales, Prince Albert Edward (later King Edward VII). Originally it was run over a distance of 1 mile 5 furlongs and was open to horses aged 3 years old and above.

The race was absent from Royal Ascot in the period following World War II (when there was no Prince of Wales), and re-emerged in 1968, a year before Prince Charles' investiture in 1969, with a shorter distance of 1 mile 2 furlongs. In 2000 it became a Group 1 race restricted to older horses.

Past Results

2023 - 6 ran
1MostahdafJ & T GosdenJim Crowley10/1
2LuxembourgA P O'BrienR L Moore2/1f
3AdayarC ApplebyW Buick10/3
2022 - 5 ran
1State Of RestJ P O'BrienS M Crosse5/1
2Bay BridgeSir Michael StouteR L Moore10/11f
3Grand GloryG BietoliniM Barzalona16/1
2021 - 6 ran
1LoveA P O'BrienR L Moore11/10f
2AudaryaJ R FanshaweW Buick10/1
3ArmoryA P O'BrienJ A Heffernan5/2
2020 - 7 ran
1Lord NorthJ H M GosdenJames Doyle5/1
2AddeybbW J HaggasTom Marquand7/2
3Barney RoyC ApplebyW Buick8/1
2019 - 8 ran
1Crystal OceanSir Michael StouteL Dettori3/1
2MagicalA P O'BrienR L Moore13/8f
3WaldgeistA FabreP C Boudot4/1
2018 - 7 ran
1Poet's WordSir Michael StouteJames Doyle11/2
2CracksmanJ H M GosdenL Dettori2/5f
3HawkbillC ApplebyW Buick11/1
2017 - 8 ran
1Highland ReelA P O'BrienR L Moore9/4
2Decorated KnightR CharltonAndrea Atzeni10/1
3UlyssesSir Michael StouteJim Crowley9/2
2016 - 6 ran
1My Dream Boat C G CoxA Kirby16/1
2Found A P O'BrienR L Moore4/1
3Western Hymn J H M GosdenL Dettori12/1
2015 - 9 ran
1Free Eagle D K WeldP J Smullen5/2f
2The Grey Gatsby K A RyanJ P Spencer9/2
3Western Hymn J H M GosdenL Dettori8/1
2014 - 8 ran
1The Fugue J H M GosdenWilliam Buick11/2
2Magician A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien6/1
3Treve Mme C Head-MaarekL Dettori8/13f
2013 - 11 ran
1Al Kazeem R CharltonJ Doyle11/4
2Mukhadram W J HaggasP Hanagan14/1
3The Fugue J H M GosdenWilliam Buick13/2
2012 - 11 ran
1So You Think A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien4/5
2Carlton House Sir Michael StouteR L Moore7/2
3FarhhSaeed bin SuroorL Dettori6/1
2011 - 7 ran
1RewildingM Al ZarooniL Dettori17/2
2So You Think A P O'BrienR L Moore4/11
3Sri PutraR VarianN Callan66/1
2010 - 12 ran
1BywordA FabreM Guyon5/2
2Twice OverH R A CecilT P Queally11/2
3Tazeez J H M GosdenT P O'Shea40/1
2009 - 8 ran
1Vision D'etat E LibaudO Peslier4/1
2Tartan Bearer Sir Michael StouteR L Moore6/4
3Never On Sunday Jean RougetC P Lemaire7/2
2008 - 12 ran
1Duke Of MarmaladeA P O'BrienJ MurtaghEvs
2Phoenix Tower H R A CecilT E Durcan7/1
3PipedreamerJ H M GosdenJ Fortune11/1
2007 - 6 ran
1Manduro A FabreS Pasquier15/8
2Dylan Thomas A P O'BrienC Soumillon2/1
3NotnowcatoSir Michael StouteJ Murtagh13/2
2006 - 7 ran
1Ouija BoardE A L DunlopO Peslier8/1
2Electrocutionist Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori9/4
3Manduro A FabreC Soumillon12/1
2005 - 8 ran
1Azamour John M OxxM J Kinane11/8
2Ace A P O'BrienK Fallon7/1
3Elvstroem Tony VasilNash Rawiller11/1
2004 - 10 ran
1RaktiM A JarvisP Robinson3/1
2PowerscourtA P O'BrienJ P Spencer9/2
3Ikhtyar J H M GosdenR Hills8/1
2003 - 10 ran
1Nayef M P TregoningR Hills5/1
2RaktiM A JarvisP Robinson50/1
3Islington Sir Michael StouteK Fallon7/1
2002 - 12 ran
1Grandera Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori4/1
2Indian CreekD R C ElsworthT Quinn25/1
3Banks HillA FabreO Peslier7/2
2001 - 9 ran
1Fantastic Light Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori100/30
2Kalanisi Sir Michael StouteK Fallon2/1
3Hightori P DemercastelG Mosse7/1
2000 - 6 ran
1Dubai MillenniumSaeed bin SuroorJ Bailey5/4
2Sumitas P SchiergenT Hellier66/1
3Beat All Sir Michael StouteK Fallon14/1