King Edward VII Stakes

The King Edward VII Stakes is a Group 2 race for 3 year old colts and geldings, run over 1 mile and 4 furlongs during the Royal Ascot meeting.

The race was first run in 1834 as the Ascot Derby Stakes and was originally also open to fillies. In 1926 it was re-named in honour of King Edward VII and restricted to colts and geldings only.

Past Results

2023 - 6 ran
1King Of SteelR VarianKevin Stott11/10f
2ContinuousA P O'BrienR L Moore9/1
3Artistic StarR M BeckettRob Hornby15/2
2022 - 6 ran
1ChangingoftheguardA P O'BrienR L Moore11/10f
2Grand AllianceC FellowesD Tudhope10/1
3LysanderW J HaggasTom Marquand15/2
2021 - 6 ran
1AlenquerW J HaggasTom Marquand13/8f
2Tasman BaySir M ToddDavid Probert10/1
3TitleR VarianDavid Egan5/1
2020 - 6 ran
1PyledriverW R MuirM Dwyer18/1
2Arthur's KingdomA P O'BrienL Dettori9/2
3Mohican HeightsD M SimcockAndrea Atzeni4/1
2019 - 8 ran
1JapanA P O'BrienR L Moore6/4f
2BangkokA M BaldingS De Sousa10/1
3Eagles By DayM L W BellD Tudhope25/1
2018 - 9 ran
1Old PersianC ApplebyW Buick9/2
2RostropovichA P O'BrienD O'Brien7/1
3Giuseppe GaribaldiA P O'BrienJ A Heffernan15/2
2017 - 12 ran
1PermianM JohnstonW Buick6/1
2KhalidiJ H M GosdenO Peslier10/1
3Crystal OceanSir Michael StouteAndrea Atzeni9/4f
2016 - 9 ran
1Across The Stars Sir Michael StouteL Dettori7/1
2Beacon Rock A P O'BrienR L Moore7/2f
3Muntahaa J H M GosdenP Hanagan10/1
2015 - 7 ran
1Balios D M SimcockJ P Spencer3/1
2Mr Singh J H M GosdenJames Doyle8/1
3Father Christmas A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien16/1
2014 - 9 ran
1Eagle Top J H M GosdenWilliam Buick12/1
2Adelaide A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien6/5f
3Scotland A M BaldingJim Crowley25/1
2013 - 8 ran
1Hillstar Sir Michael StouteR L Moore15/2
2Battle Of Marengo A P O'BrienJ P O'Brien10/11f
3Mutashaded R VarianP Hanagan11/2
2012 - 5 ran
1Thomas ChippendaleSir H R A CecilJ P Murtagh9/2
2Noble MissionSir H R A CecilT P Queally4/1
3Thought Worthy J H M GosdenWilliam Buick8/1
2011 - 10 ran
1Nathaniel J H M GosdenWilliam Buick11/4
2Fiorente Sir Michael StouteR L Moore9/1
3Alexander Pope A P O'BrienC O'Donoghue12/1
2010 - 8 ran
1MonterossoM JohnstonL Dettori7/2
2Arctic Cosmos J H M GosdenWilliam Buick14/1
3BuzzwordM Al ZarooniAhmed Ajtebi11/1
2009 - 12 ran
1Father TimeH R A CecilE Ahern9/1
2Your Old PalJ NosedaR L Moore14/1
3Black Bear IslandA P O'BrienC O'Donoghue9/2
2008 - 9 ran
1Campanologist Saeed bin SuroorL Dettori9/1
2Conduit Sir Michael StouteR L Moore11/4
3Top LockA M BaldingMartin Dwyer40/1
2007 - 9 ran
1BoscobelM JohnstonJ Fanning7/1
2Lucarno J H M GosdenJ Fortune5/2
3Yellowstone A P O'BrienJ Murtagh8/1
2006 - 9 ran
1Papal BullSir Michael StouteK Fallon5/4
2Red Rocks B J MeehanL Dettori3/1
3Sixties IconJ NosedaS W Kelly8/1
2005 - 5 ran
1Plea BargainJ H M GosdenJ Fortune9/2
2Brahminy Kite M JohnstonK Darley16/1
3The GeezerD R C ElsworthT Quinn5/2
2004 - 5 ran
1Five Dynasties A P O'BrienJ P Spencer11/4
2Elshadi M P TregoningW Supple4/1
3Barati J M OxxM J Kinane3/1
2003 - 8 ran
1High AccoladeM P TregoningMartin Dwyer5/2
2Delsarte M JohnstonK Dalgleish3/1
3Summerland J H M GosdenJ Fortune25/1
2002 - 7 ran
1Balakheri Sir Michael StouteJ Murtagh11/4
2Bollin EricT D EasterbyK Darley3/1
3First CharterSir Michael StouteJ P Spencer25/1
2001 - 12 ran
1Storming HomeB W HillsM Hills9/2
2SnowstormM L W BellM Fenton12/1
3Theatre Script J H M GosdenJ Fortune20/1
2000 - 7 ran
1Subtle Power H R A CecilT Quinn7/4
2Zafonium P F I ColePat Eddery6/1
3Roscius Saeed bin SuroorJ Velazquez7/1